Dhaulagiri circuit Trek

Nepal is a very small country in South Aisa, yet has diverse geographic locations. From plain terrain in ‘Terai’ region to Mountainous region in the North and Himalayan regions, Nepal has every kind of vegetation and geography. It has many zones and regions. One of the most popular regions of Nepal that are famous not only for geographic location but also for having one the most admired and tallest Mountain, Mt. Dhaulagiri is Dhaulagiri region. This region falls in Dhaulagiri Zone which is one of the 14 zones of Nepal.


The trek starts from the small village called Beni and moves towards the north following to the joint of Myagdi Khola. From the Darbang, the trails lead the trekkers via bamboo forests to the southwest camp of Dhaulagiri I. Along with this camp, the vertical path goes via narrow crevasse to the icy mass, Chanbarden Glacier. Afterward this glacier, the trekkers further move towards the northern part and reach Dhampus La and finally to Kali Gandaki Valley. Finally, the trek completes as one reach Pokhara via Marpha.

Apparently, this trek is one of the most adventurous trekking experience one can ever have. Following the trek leads one to various villages, forests, and rivers of Nepal. And this helps to understand the culture of Nepal and explore the wilderness. This trekking is definitely the must try trekking for everyone.

So, Dhaulagiri Zone located in the Western Development Region is one of the most popular regions of Nepal as it has the 7th tallest mountain in the world, Mount Dhaulagiri.


Day 1Arrive in Kathmandu

Day 2Fly to Pokhara

Day 3Drive to Beni and trek to Babachur (870m)

Day 4Trek to Dharapani (1,470m)

Day 5Trek to Muri (1,850m)

Day 6Trek to Boghara (2,080m)

Day 7Trek to Dobang (2,500m)

Day 8Trek to Sallaghari (2,820m)

Day 9Trek to Italian Base Camp (3,660m)

Day 10Rest and acclimatisation day

Day 11Trek to Glacier Camp (4,200m)

Day 12Rest and acclimatisation day at Glacier Camp

Day 13Trek to Dhaulagiri Base Camp (4,700m)

Day 14Rest and acclimatisation day at Dhaulagiri Base Camp

Day 15Trek via French Col (5,360m) to Hidden Valley (5,050m)

Day 16Option 1: Exploration walk around Hidden Valley option 2: Optional ascent of Dhampus Peak (6,060m).

Day 17Trek via Dhampus Pass (5,240m) to Yak Kharka (3,680m)

Day 18Trek to Jomsom (2,670m)

Day 19 Fly to Pokhara & Kathmandu

Day 20 Sightseeing in Kathmandu

Day 21 Fly back home

Dhaulagiri Zone is located in Nepal’s Western Development Region. This zone is famous for many trekking spots like Mustang, Kali Gandaki Valley, Mustang and last but not the least, this zone is famous for Mt. Dhaulagiri. Also, Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve, one and only hunting reserve of Nepal is in this region.

Among many, Mt. Dhaulagiri is the major attraction of this zone. This mountain is one of the tallest mountains with the height of above 8000 meters above the sea level. Yearly, thousands of visitors, adventurers, and nature lovers are attracted by the mesmerizing and raw beauty of this Mountain.

Mount Dhaulagiri is the 7th highest mountain in the world at an elevation of 8,177 meters above the sea level. It is located in Mid western part of Nepal in Dhaulagiri zone. The name Dhaulagiri is composed of two Sanskrit words; ‘Dhawala’ meaning While and dazzling beautiful and ‘Giri’ meaning Peak. So, this peak literally means the white and dazzling mountain.

Trekking in this region is one of the most adventurous experience one can get from Nepal. if you wish to go trekking in this region, below are the detailed itinerary to reach the Dhaulagiri region and trek over there.